Bumble and Bumble’s Beach Babe

Image

My dream beauty look has always been ‘beach babe’ and I mean BABE in every sense of the word. Soft, wavy, blonde hair, super toned body with beautiful sun-kissed, make-upless skin frolicking around with a handsome, European god as the waves crash against the shore. You know the girl I am talking about, ‘that girl’ – the one you enviably watch from behind your copy of Fifty Shades as you artfully position yourself on your towel so you are facing the sun for optimum tan yet at your most flattering angle.

Image

This year I promised myself that whilst I will never be ‘that’ girl I would do everything in my power (and that I could afford) to mimic her look. I thought it was easiest to start with the hair so when I got my hands on Bumble and Bumble’s Surf Foam Wash shampoo (£18.50) I knew I was heading in the right direction. The bottle alone filled me with beach babe hope, delightfully turquoise with promises of ‘buoyant body and soft, sea breezy texture’. With this in mind, I made sure I packed a hand-luggage size sample so I could try it out during a five day break in Mallorca.

 Image

I had already had my hair coloured to the perfect shade of blonde at the House of Rush in Piccadilly Circus by Damien (I strongly advised all blonde-aholics to pay him a visit) so happily marched myself off into the shower with my Bumble and Bumble to begin stage one of operation ‘Beach Babe’  – just without the beach. As I lathered up the shampoo, joyful beach-like smells filled the shower with a heady aroma and I even had a splash and frolic under the showerhead. I washed my hair twice for a thorough cleanse and then applied a dab of NSpa’s Full Body conditioner (£3) that contains extracts of shea butter and collagen which lightly nourishes my fine hair to perfection.

 Image

Once towel-dried and combed through I apply a few squirts of Bumble and Bumble’s Thickening Spray (£21.50) to my lifeless, fine hair to get full body and bounce. Doing the blow-dry-head-upside down technique I brushed my hair through to tip myself back up and see big, bouncy hair! Wow, buoyant it certainly was – Bumble and Bumble don’t break promises. Furthermore it was thick yet no sticky product residue, which tends to be the way with cheaper products. It is certainly worth investing in the Thickening Spray if like myself you are plagued on a daily basis with flat roots.

Now for those waves. The most natural and best way to achieve the ‘beach wave’ is actually…um… go to the beach. I am so obsessed with beach hair that I have gone as far as to washing my hair in the sea (South Pacific style) so all that salty goodness and texture is fully absorbed into my blonde locks – believe me, you may get some odd looks from the shore but the final effect is worth it.

If you don’t have oceans of salty water on your current doorstep then the best way to achieve the ‘beach-wave’ I find is a good, old French plait. If you don’t know how you should be ashamed that you didn’t pick it up in the school playground. In case you need a little reminder here is a step-by-step guide.

1.Start at the crown of the head, take and brush a small section.

2.Begin at the root exactly how you would start a normal plait, however after your first weave, pick up another strand of hair from the left-hand side of your head and weave it in.

3.For the next weave, pick up from the right hand side and continue by alternating sides until you reach the nape of the neck.

4.You then can finish off the plait as a normal leaving a nice chunk of hair at the end and securing with an elastic.

Remember to keep the plait quite tight for nice, strong waves and then set your alarm and sleep with the plait in. When you awake and release the plait you will have mermaid style waves that will cascade down your back with boho elegance. Secure the waves with a couple of mistings of Elnette.

French plaits, salt water and Bumble and Bumble are certainly a sure start to being ‘that girl’. Whilst the super-toned body is a ‘work-in-progress’ I worked bloody hard on my tan during my luxurious boat and beach break in order to take me one step closer to beach-babe heaven.

One thought on “Bumble and Bumble’s Beach Babe

  1. Well, it’s good again. Can’t help feeling you should be buying your head in a good book instead, but you do write very well!

    From: blogciaobella <comment-reply@wordpress.com> Reply-To: blogciaobella <comment+_6xiomqdty8qckvuyt1_4p3@comment.wordpress.com> Date: Sunday, 21 July 2013 23:02 To: Martin Annable <martinannable@eaglemoss.co.uk> Subject: [New post] Bumble and Bumbles Beach Babe

    tessacharlotte posted: “My dream beauty look has always been ‘beach babe’ and I mean BABE in every sense of the word. Soft, wavy, blonde hair, super toned body with beautiful sun-kissed, make-upless skin frolicking around with a handsome, European god as the waves crash against “

Leave a Reply

