I’ve Got Even More Magic In Me

It’s been over a full month since my last post (I’m sorry I am a terrible blogger) so if you can cast your mind back perhaps you can remember I found myself referring to Mario Badescu as ‘God in cognito’. Since this almost blasphemous post, I have been in touch with Mario’s in-house PR who very kindly pulled together a bespoke skin care regime for me.

I am going to cut to the chase, Mario’s stuff is life-changing. Results aren’t rapid they’re instant. Never before have I seen such a sudden change in my complexion. Following Mario Badescu’s skin care regime is like having the sun pass over a black cloud to reveal a brighter, more brilliant and clearer landscape (face). See below  individual reviews of tried and tested products so you can work out which is the best investment for you or whether you want to go all out and purchase the full range.

Silver Powder
Image
This product is definitely where I saw the biggest results. Promising to remove blackheads and clear blocked pores, a mix of Calcium Carbonate, Kaolin and Zinc Oxide work to physically draw out impurities leaving you blackhead free with a clearer complexion. After following the rather novel instructions – you dip a damp cotton pad into the chalky white powder and smear all over the desired areas (I go for the classic troublesome t-zone), the powder turns into a paste which then sets like plaster of paris . After ten minutes, you remove with a damp cloth to reveal a shiny, new, clear nose… I call it deforestation for blackheads!

Cucumber Tonic Mask
Image
What I like most about this mask is it is a proper old-school 90s facemask. It takes me back to an era where you had your girlfriends over for sleepover, often in a fit of giggles whilst you watched a 18 rated horror film in secret and applied facemasks to your untouched, perfect 14 year-old skin. This mask smells as fresh as ‘cucumber’ (sorry terrible pun) and dries in that really satisfying hard-clay way so you want to stretch your face out and create wrinkle lines! I unfortunately have a 6.30am start every morning so quickly added the mask into my candlelit bath, exfoliate routine for 5 minutes rather than letting it set for the full 20 minutes. Even in just a quarter of the recommended time, my complexion was 10 x clearer than before. Blackheads gone with that lovely post bath sheen. Combined with the silver powder I barely recognised the reflection staring back at me!

Enzyme Cleansing Gel and Special Cucumber Lotion (toner)
Image Image
Or what I like to call the dream combo working to banish blemishes and leave your skin squeaky clean and perfectly pure. The cleanser I have to admit has taken a while to get used to. I’m a vowed face wash fan as I love to feel truly sparkly clean with several splashes of water when I cleanse. However I work round this by massaging the green-gel like formula in circular motions onto damp skin and then running one of the Liz Earle linen clothes under warm water I removed the cleanser. Combined the pair give a lovely exfoliated and thoroughly cleansed feel. Following the cleanser, I apply several splashes of the Special Cucumber Lotion to a cotton pad and wipe over my complexion. The toner has that lovely mix of zingy freshness mixed with astringent which works to close pores, disinfect, and tackle blemishes.

The Buffer Lotion
Image
I am going to be honest with you – it stings like a b*tch but as was once famously said, beauty is pain. And this is a defiant step towards beauty. At the moment, with my hormones buzzing I am having patches of break-outs around my chin. It’s like when one spot surfaces she invites a friend to come and join the party! Worse, amongst the patches of blemishes there is always a Regina George Queen Bee type blemish who likes to rear her ugly (white) head. I add a few drops to a cotton pad and apply to the infected area. I apply after cleansing and toning, and most effectively before I apply the Cucumber Tonic Mask. When the Queen Bee surfaces I reach for my original favourite, The Drying Lotion which puts her back in her rightful place. Think of the Cucumber Tonic Mask, the Buffering Lotion and the Drying lotion as ‘one team one dream’ – the NYPD for spots if you will.

Oil free Moisturiser Factor 30

Image
Does exactly what it says on the tin. Nothing fussy, nothing fancy just a oil-free moisturiser with SPF 30 to hydrate and protect. It leaves a soft but matt finish creating a perfect base for foundation. Alternatively it comes in a simple, SPF-free version. Be careful to not rub it to near your eyes – it stings!

NB: Contains St John’s Wart

Hyaluronic Eye Cream

Image
I’ve always struggled with eye creams, I know I need one but I can never be bothered. Therefore with the new regime I have vowed to try and be better! Mario’s eye cream is simple, rich and moisturising providing that extra barrier of hydration to the delicate area of skin around the eyes. This cream is great and does the job for now however there are no claims to banish fine lines with this one so give me a few more years and I will need an upgrade!

2 thoughts on “I’ve Got Even More Magic In Me

  1. Such an old pro, now. Really well written.

    From: blogciaobella <comment-reply@wordpress.com> Reply-To: blogciaobella <comment+_6xiomqdtyb19qqx5h56dno@comment.wordpress.com> Date: Wednesday, 6 November 2013 18:37 To: Eaglemoss <martinannable@eaglemoss.co.uk> Subject: [New post] Ive Got Even More Magic In Me

    tessacharlotte posted: ” Its been over a full month since my last post (Im sorry I am a terrible blogger) so if you can cast your mind back perhaps you can remember I found myself referring to Mario Badescu as ‘God in cognito’. Since this almost blasphemous post, I have been i”

Leave a Reply

