Pots of Joy

Image  Image

My post winter, dehydrated, flakey yet still threatening outbreaks of blemishes skin is in desperate need of some TLC and a large dose of moisture. Reminding myself to not be a total consumer and give in to luxurious packaging and adverts that promise instant and restored beauty I started flipping back through my blog and racking my brain for tips that wouldn’t break the bank. Remembering the wise words of my Parisian friend’s grandma along with a good friend at Condé Nast I popped into Boots and splashed out a whole £1.49 for 50ml of cult classic, the original Nivea Crème , hey, it was so cheap I bought one to leave at my boyfriends. Anyhow, that night once I had removed my make-up, cleansed and toned like a good beauty blogger, I pealed opened the rather novel seal from my little blue pot and inhaled that classic, classic smell of old school crème that promised comfort and restored hydration. Using clean hands I scooped about two generous blobs onto my face, and spent a good five minutes massaging it in, using the pads of my fingers and strength of my thumb to apply pressure to my skin which works to increase blood flow and lymphatic drainage. Honestly girls, adding just a few extra minutes to your skincare regime to do this will give you healthier, glowing and plumper skin in an instant. I particularly recommend this technique for the Nivea’s Crème as it’s thick and rich texture can feel a little sticky after application so it should definitely be reserved for your night-time regime.  Once fully absorbed in the morning however, your skin will feel as soft as a baby’s bum!

Continuing my frugal quest I got in touch with the lovely ladies who do the PR for Nspa who suggested I tried their Deep Hydrating Facial Oil for my parched complexion. An exquisite combination of Baobab oil rich in vitamin A, D, E and F helps improve skin elasticity whilst Rosehip oil helps rebuild and strengthen, not forgetting to mention the delightful smell which comes into its own when massaged into cleansed skin. I still can’t believe all of this deliciousness costs a meager £7 (asda.com) and it even comes with a handy drop stick to prevent wastage. I admit, I am often a snob when it comes to facial oils, but this little beauty really does what it says on the bottle. Even with one use my skin felt hydrated and restored.

Leave a Reply

